2013 Vuelta – Stage 9 – All about the finish


Today’s 9th stage finishing in Valdepeña de Jaen, has become something of a regular occurrence in the Vuelta a España, having featured in the 2010 edition, the 2011 edition and now this year’s 2013 9th stage. The reason for this is it is such a brutal, irregular climb with ramps as steep as 30%, it is less than 1km in length but due to the sheer brutality of the climb it can produce gaps among the starters in the neighborhood of a huge mountain finish.

Today’s stage for Katusha was all about Daniel Moreno, the local boy. Trailing Nicolas Roche by just 17 seconds, and being a lightweight power climber, he needed to win the stage and take the 10 bonus seconds and beat Roche by 8. And that is exactly what he did. Jaoquim Rodriguez lead Moreno out and allowed a gap running a little interference on the chasing Valverde who then found Purito glued to his wheel. Moreno turned himself inside out and crossed the line first and waited for Roche who, exactly 8 seconds later crossed the line, ceding the Red leader’s jersey to Moreno. For Moreno it is his second stage win of the Vuelta and the leader’s jersey.

2013 Vuelta Stage 9 Top Ten
1. Daniel Moreno (KAT)________4h18’57”
2. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)___+4″
3. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)
4. Nicolas Roche (TST)________+8″
5. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)_______+9″
6. Rinaldo Nocentini (ALM)
7. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)
8. Philippe Gilbert (BMC)_____+13″
9. Warren Barguil (ARG)
10. Igor Anton (EUS)__________+15″

Overall Classification after 9 stages
1. Daniel Moreno (KAT)________35h50’34”
2. Nicolas Roche (TST)_________+1″
3. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)_______+20″
4. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)____+22″
5. Chris Horner (RLT)_________+28″
6. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)____+56″
7. Leopold Konig (NET)_________+1’09″
8. Haimar Zubeldia (RLT)______+1’10″
9. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)_______+1’24″
10. Ivan Santaromita (BMC)____+1’26”
11. Ivan Basso (CAN)_________+1’36″
12. Rafal Majka (TST)_________+1’43″

15. Domenico Pozzovivo (ALM)__+2’21″
16. Michele Scarponi (LAM)_____+2’23”
17. Laurens Ten Dam (BEL)______+2’25”
18. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_______+2’28″

22. Sergio Luis Henao (SKY)___+3’28″

25. Bauke Mollema (BEL)_______+3’48″

27. David Arroyo (CJR)________+4’05″

29. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)______+4’30″
30. Mikel Nieve (EUS)_________+4’35″

34. Igor Anton (EUS)__________+5’54″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s