2013 Tour – Stage 16 – Never a dull day


Rui Costa (MOV) has won from the breakaway climbing away from the large group of escapees, and holding on the descent to win solo. Costa, the current Tour de Suisse champion was eager to go in the break and bring some success to the Movistar team, who had large ambitions, but have suffered some bad luck throughout the race.

It was something of a transition stage today after the rest day and the peloton was very relaxed allowing a break of 24 guys to go over 11 minutes up the road. But things got hot on the Col de Manse as Rui Costa (MOV) attacked the break in search of the stage win, and further down the mountian Katusha put the hammer on and blew the peloton apart in search of isolating Chris Froome.

In front it was Kloden, Riblon, Coppel and Jeannesson in pursuit of Costa, some 45 seconds down. Further down the mountain is was Porte and Froome defending against Contador and Kreuziger, Valverde and Quintana, Rodriguez and Mollema. Alberto Contador attacked repeated times, perhaps trying to distance Mollema more than hurting Froome. However, in his aggression on the descent, he went off the road and Froome followed him right onto the grass. Suddenly, the group in front of the two Movistar riders, and Rodriguez and Mollema were upright, but held up to avoid attacking Froome and Contador. Porte did a good job pulling the others back to the group. No big change in the GC, but it was fun.

Stage 16 Top Five
1. Rui Costa (MOV)__________3h52’45”
2. Christophe Riblon (ALM)__+42″
3. Arnold Jeannesson (FDJ)
4. Jerome Coppel (COF)
5. Andreas Kloden (RLT)

Overall Classification after 16 stages
1. Chris Froome (SKY)________65h15’36″
2. Bauke Mollema (BEL)_______+4’14″
3. Alberto Contador (TST)______+4’25″
4. Roman Kreuziger (TST)_____+4’28″
5. Nairo Quintana (MOV)______+5’47″
6. Laurens Ten Dam (BEL)_____+5’54″
7. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)___+7’11″
8. Jacob Fuglsang (AST)______+7’22″
9. JC Peraud (ALM)__________+8’47″
10. Dan Martin (GRM)__________+9’28″
11. Michal Kwiatkowski (OPQ)__+9’37″
12. Michael Rogers (TST)______+10’54″
13. Andrew Talansky (GRM)_____+13’32″
14. Daniel Navarro (COF)_____+13’54″
15. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)____+14’42″
16. Maxime Monfort (RLT)_____+14’47″
17. Cadel Evans (BMC)________+16’40″
18. Mikel Nieve (EUS)_________+19’51″
19. Andy Schleck (RLT)_______+21’07″
20. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+22’34”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s