2013 Tour – Stage 9 – Phew, that was close.


Dan Martin (GRM) outsprinted Jacob Fuglsang (AST) to take the win on the dramatic 9th stage of the Tour. A day after it looked like Sky would repeat their tactics from last year and ride the race to sleep, Garmin, Movistar and Saxo Tinkoff shared a common goal of tearing the race apart and succeeded in doing just that. Garmin came away with the fruits of their labour in the form of the stage win, but for Movistar and Saxo Bank, eliminating Richie Porte from the overall (he finished +17’49) moved Valverde into second, and Contador into 6th, and has added needed tension back into the race, just as it started to wane.

From the start of the race the attacks were on, as many in the peloton seemed eager to test the enthusiasm of the group to chase a breakaway. After two climbs, the Col de Portet-d’Aspet and the Col de Mente a strong group formed off the front incliding Ryder Hesjedal, Pierre Rolland, Romain Bardet, Thomas De Gendt and Bart De Clerq. The group swelled to seven on the Peyresourde, but Movistar was starting to heat things up behind and wasn’t allowing much time for the front group as Richie Porte was distanced by the selection.

On the day’s final climb, La Horquette d’Anzican, Froome was isolated and Movistar tried numerous times to dislodge the Maillot Jaune but they could not. Nairo Quintana launched four of five seperate attacks and Alejandro Valverde was very active in trying to put Froome into difficulty. Then, Dan Martin and jacob Fuglsang broke free while the main favorites stared at each other. The duo held to the line with Martin winning the sprint, and Froome crossing the line with the Yellow Jersey in tact.

2013 Tour Stage 9 Top Ten
1. Dan Martin (GRM)___________4h43’43”
2. Jacob Fuglsang (AST)
3. Michael Kwiatkowski (OPQ)__+20″
4. Daniel Moreno (KAT)
5. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)
6. Cadel Evans (BMC)
7. Wouter Poels (VAC)
8. Bauke Mollema (BEL)
9. Daniel Navarro (COF)
10. Maxime Monfort (RLT)

Overall Classification after 9 stages
1. Chris Froome (SKY)________36h59’18″
2. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)__+1’25″
3. Bauke Mollema (BEL)_______+1’44″
4. Laurens Ten Dam (BEL)_____+1’50″
5. Roman Kreuziger (TST)_____+1’51″
6. Alberto Contador (TST)
7. Nairo Quintana (MOV)______+2’02″
8. Dan Martin (GRM)__________+2’28”
9. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)___+2’31″
10. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+2’45″
11. Mikel Nieve (EUS)________+2’55″
12. Jacob Fuglsang (AST)_____+3’07”
13. Michal Kwiatkowski (OPQ)_+3’25”
14. Jean Christophe Peraud (ALM)_+3’29”
15. Andy Schleck (RLT)_______+4’00”
16. Cadel Evans (BMC)________+4’36″

19. Igor Anton (EUS)_________+6’40”

22. Andrew Talansky (GRM)____+9’35”

25. Pierre Rolland (EUR)_____+12’34″

33. Richie Porte (SKY)_______+18’30”

46. Damiano Cunego (LAM)_____+22’30″

35. Ryder Hesjedal (GRM)_____+26’08″

47. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_____+31’31″

51. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC)_+35’01″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s