2013 Giro – Stage 18 – Crushed


The face of Samuel Sanchez, who was leading the uphill timetrial after he finished 45’27”, was the perfect illustration of the hopes of all those GC guys competing against Vincenzo Nibali. As each rider crossed the line, Samuel knew that they didn’t quite have enough, but he saw Nibali, hell, he could probably hear Nibali roaring up the mountain side. As Scarponi came in (+23″ on Sanchez), Uran (+28) and Evans more than a minute behind the Asturian there was a look of accomplishment in Samuel’s smile, but defeat in his eyes. Just some 30 seconds later Vincenzo Nibali crossed the line nearly a full minute ahead of Sanchez in second place. As Samuel sunk in his chair, looking blown away by the margin with which Nibali beat not only him, but the rest of the peloton, he knew and they all knew any hopes of winning, obviously today, but tomorrow and beyond, were over.


Vincenzo Nibali’s performance today, barring a disastrous crash or some other unfortunate fate, has all but sealed his win. And he deserves it. He’s been a class ahead of everyone in this race, even with or without Wiggins in it, Nibali came with the team, the form, and the desire to win and no one was beating him, and he just showed that again today.

Stage 18 Top Ten

1. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)__44’29”

2. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)__+58″

3. Damiano Caruso (CAN)__+1’20”

4. Michele Scarponi (LAM)__+1’21”

5. Rafal Majka (STB)_______+1’25”

6. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)____+1’26”

7. Carlos Betancur (ALM)___+1’32”

8. Stef Clement  (BLA)______+1’36”

9. Dario Cataldo (SKY)______+1’41”

10. Danilo DiLuca (VIN)_____+1’52”

Overall Classification after Stage 18

1. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)___73h55’58″

2. Cadel Evans (BMC)_____+4’02″

3. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)____+4’12″

4. Michele Scarponi (LAM)__+5’14″

5. Przemyslaw Niemiec (LAM)_+6’09″

6. Carlos Betancur (ALM)___+6’47″

7. Rafal Majka (STB)________+6’45″

8. Mauro Santambrogio (VIN)_+7’30″

9. Benat Intxausti (MOV)____+8’36″

10. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)____+9’34″

11. Domenico Pozzovivo (ALM)_+9’45″

12. Robert Gesink (BLA)____+10’19″

13. Franco Pellizotti (AND)___+10’27″

14. Tanel Kangert (AST)_____+11’02″

15. Yuri Trofimov (KAT)_____+11’24″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s