2013 Giro – Stage 16 – Back at it, full gas.


The day after a rest day usually plays out one of two ways: 1. The GC contendors and their respective teams take it easy and the breakaway has it’s way with the race, or 2. The GC guys go full gas and try and catch a guy with soft legs after the rest. Today was option 2. With the favorites battling it out until the line it was Benat Intxausti (MOV) who came away with the win after he snuck away with Przmyslaw Niemiec (LAM)  and Tanel Kangert (AST).

Mauro Santambrogio, who was in fourth place, was the rider who the favorites caught out and he lost some 2’21” on the stage and he’s dropped to 6th position on the GC. The favorites forced the pace on the steep Cat 3 climb to Andrate and Santambrogio lost the front group. On the descent, it was Samuel Sanchez and Carlos Betancur forcing the pace as Samu was looking for the win to bring some success to the struggling Euskaltel squad. However, with Sanchez on the front and Betancur not pushing on, Vincenzo Nibali and Michele Scarponi, two more ace descenders brought the two back and grouped everything together. The pace of the descent pushed the Maglia Rosa selection down the slopes that only put more time into Santambrogio who was trailing by just over 1 minute at the GPM.

The favorites battled it out with Sanchez, Gesink, Intxausti, Pellizotti, Tangert and Niemiec all digging deep to get a break and compete for the win and the bonus seconds. In the end, it was Intxausti coming away with the win and the third for Movistar who have been having an incredibly successful giro considering their lack of a true GC contender. The Top twenty got blitzed today with numerous groups and riders caught out with the aggressive racing. In addition to Santambrogio, Gesink had more bad luck and lost 23″ with a mechanical, and

Stage 16 Top Five

1. Benat Intxausti (MOV)

2. Tanel Kangert (AST)

3. Przemyslaw Niemiec (LAM)

4. Ramunas Navardauskas (GRM)

5. Cadel Evans (BMC)

Overall Classification after Stage 16

1. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)___67h55’36″

2. Cadel Evans (BMC)_____+1’26″

3. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)____+2’46″

4. Michele Scarponi (LAM)__+3’53″

5. Przemyslaw Niemiec (LAM)_+4’13″

6. Mauro Santambrogio (VIN)_+4’57″

7. Carlos Betancur (ALM)___+5’15″

8. Rafal Majka (STB)________+5’20″

9. Benat Intxausti (MOV)____+5’47″

10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ALM)_+7’34″

11. Tanel Kangert (AST)_____+7’43″

12. Robert Gesink (BLA)____+7’47″

13. Franco Pellizotti (AND)___+8’15″

14. Robert Kiserlovski (RLT)__+8’19″

15. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)____+8’36″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s