2013 Giro – Stage 15 – Como Pantani


Giovanni Visconti (MOV) has won the extreme, weather-shortened stage 15 beside the monument to Marco Pantani on the Col du Galibier. Visconti attacked from the group with some 70km to go and was in a strong breakaway which he was able to hold through the snow and massive slopes of the massive french mountain. With the win and the long breakaway, Visconti racked up numerous mountain points and now has the climbers jersey to go along with his stage win.

Rafal Majka and Carlos Betancur were active fighting for the young riders jersey and they snuck away with Niemiec and Duarte to finish less than a minute behind Visconti with Betancur grabbing the bonus seconds for third and taking the white jersey for now. However, the rest of favorites were remarkably quiet with the weather being so severe that it appeared there was little desire for an all out battle. Vincenzo Nibali attempted an attack but it was short-lived. “I tried on the Galibier to make a selection, but it was too cold. There was no going anywhere in these conditions,” said Nibali. “It would have been nice to have come away something from this stage, but we are content. We have the jersey going into the rest day. The Giro is still long.” A few of the secondary GC guys struggled today with small gaps, but it appears that Henao, Pozzovivo and Gesink were the ones to suffer the most and lose more time and some GC positions on the day.

Tomorrow is a much needed rest day for the peloton and it should give some of the riders such as Scarponi and Intxausti who are riding through sickness to tend to what ails them and perhaps have a little more energy for the final week.

Stage 15 Top Five

1. Giovanni Visconti (MOV)

2. Carlos Betancur (ALM)____+42

3. Przemyslaw Niemec (LAM)

4. Rafal Majka (STB)

5. Fabio Duarte (COL)

Overall Classification after Stage 15

1. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)___62h02’34″

2. Cadel Evans (BMC)_____+1’26″

3. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)____+2’46″

4. Mauro Santambrogio (VIN)_+2’47″

5. Michele Scarponi (LAM)__+3’53″

6. Przemyslaw Niemiec (LAM)_+4’35″

7. Carlos Betancur (ALM)___+5’16″

8. Rafal Majka (STB)________+5’20″

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ALM)_+5’57″

10. Benat Intxausti (MOV)____+6’21″

11. Robert Kiserlovski (RLT)__+6’42″

12. Yuri Trofimov (KAT)_____+7’25″

13. Robert Gesink (BLA)____+7’38″

14. Tanel Kangert (AST)_____+8’09″

15. Franco Pellizotti (AND)___+8’15″

16. Sergio Luis Henao (SKY)__+8’16″

17. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)____+8’36″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s