2013 Giro – Stage 10 – Plan B?


Sometimes rest days allow time for reflection. Can Wiggins compete with Nibali? Can Hesjedal regroup and challenge? Who is the leader between Pozzovivo and Betancur? Today we got the answers and it was a lot of plan B. Sky sent Rigoberto Uran up the road and he bagged the win and perhaps leadership of the team. Hesjedal was dropped on the first climb and lost 20 minutes and 50 seconds today. Pozzovivo and Betancur both look like they are the likely challengers for a third place and may push Nibali when the mountains come.

With 8km to go and Dario Cataldo demolishing the group with his pace, Rigoberto Uran attacked and perhaps finally gave serious credence to the idea that Sky has abandoned the Wiggins plan. If Uran is Sky’s Plan 1b, stage 10 was one in which they began giving him the chance to earn the leadership role on the road. Uran did just that taking 1’08” out of Wiggins leadership on the road and with a final week as mountainous as is in this Giro, I can’t see Wiggins taking that role back. And for Garmin, the question now is: Who/What/Where is our plan B?

Cadel Evans continues to impress protecting his podium spot today on a brutally hard and steep stage, while Gesink, Henao, Sanchez and Scarponi all suffered on the day. Vincenzo Nibali maintains the Maglia Rosa and looked fairly comfortable doing so.

Stage 10 Top Five

1. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)

2. Carlos Betancur (ALM)__+20

3. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)___+31

4. Mauro Santambroggio (VIN)

5. Cadel Evans (BMC)

Overall Classification after Stage 10

1. Vincenzo Nibali (AST)___38h57’32″

2. Cadel Evans (BMC)_____+41″

3. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)____+2’04″

4. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)___+2’05″

5. Robert Gesink (BLA)____+2’12″

6. Michele Scarponi (LAM)__+2’13″

7. Mauro Santambrogio (VIN)_+2’55″

8. Przemyslaw Niemiec (LAM)_+3’35″

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ALM)_+4’17”

10. Rafal Majka (STB)________+4’21”

11. Benat Intxausti (MOV)____+4’23”

12. Sergio Luis Henao (SKY)__+5’06″

13. Tanel Kangert (AST)_____+5’08″

14. Carlos Betancur (ALM)___+5’26″

15. Robert Kiserlovski (RLT)__+5’57”

18. Samuel Sanchez (EUS)____+7’46″

33. Ryder Hesjedal (GRM)_____+23’45”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s