Tour de France – Stage 19 TT – Wiggins Wins handily

Bradley Wiggins has likely laid to rest any questions about whether he or Chris Froome were the strongest rider on this 2012 Tour de France course. Wiggins won the final TT stage by a massive 1’16” of second place Froome putting 3’21 between him and Froome and 6’19” on Nibali in one of the largest margined GC’s in over a decade. As the pre-race analysits believed, if Wiggins could avoid crashes and limit his losses in the mountains, the near 100km’s of time trialing would make for a almost certain win. And win he has as tomorrow’s stage into Paris is always more of a celebration than a race.

Really, there wasn’t much drama today as watching the guys turn over the cranks in what looked all to easy for Wiggins made for an inevitable conclusion. Luis Leon Sanchez, who finished third on the day provided the intital excitement setting a great time but even he could only watch as Froome and Wiggins appraoched the finish setting incredible times. Cadel Evans also will be a focus of attention as he really struggled today, needing to preserve his placings and not being able to. He was passed by his teammate Teejay Van Garderen who started 3 minutes after him and finished the day +5’54”! on Wiggins and slipped to 7th almost 16 minutes down.

Tomorrow, is the Champs-Elysees and the final stage for glory for the sprinters. It’ll be the standard celebratory affair until they reach the Champs when the race will heat up for the sprint. Cav will be hungry again but since the Green jersey is already decided, the stage will be his only shot at glory.

Stage 19 TT Top Five
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)___1h04’13”
2. Chris Froome (SKY)______+1’16”
3. Luis Leon Sanchez (RAB)_+1’50”
4. Peter Velits (OPQ)______+2’02”
5. Richie Porte (SKY)______+2’25”

Full Overall Classification:

Overall Classification after Stage 17
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)_____84h26’31”
2. Chris Froome (SKY)________+3’21”
3. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)_______+6’19”
4. Jurgen VanDenBroeck (LTB)_+10’15”
5. Teejay Vangarderen (BMC)__+11’04”
6. Haimar Zubeldia (RNT)_____+15’43”
7. Cadel Evans (BMC)________+15’51”
8. Pierre Rolland (EUR)______+16’31”
9. Janez Brajkovic (AST)_____+16’38”
10. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_______+17’17”
11. Andreas Kloden (RNT)_____+17’54”
12. Nicolas Roche (ALM)_______+19’33”
13. Chris Horner (RNT)_______+19’55”
14. Chris Sorenesen (SAX)____+25’27”
15. Denis Menchov (KAT)______+27’22”
16. Maxime Monfort (RNT)_____+28’30”
17. Egoi Martinez (EUS)______+31’46”
18. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+37’03”
19. Eduard Vorganov (KAT)____+38’16”
20. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)_+42’26”

Full Overall Classification:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s