Tour de France – Stage 16 – Voeckler wins, Evans Succumbs in the Circle of Death.

Thomas Voeckler (EUR) has won the Queen stage of the Tour de France to take his second win of the 2012 Tour. Voeckler was in the break for most of the 197km stage. With the win and the points first over the top of all four climbs, Voeckler also takes the Polka Dot jersey with 207pts. The big surprise on the day was Cadel Evan who cracked going over both the Aspin and the Perysourde. He came in 11’55 behind Voeckler and over 4 minutes behind on the Yellow jersey and drops to 7th in the overall standings behind teammate and white jersey holder Teejay Van Garderen.

Vincenzo Nibali was the most active GC rider on the day attacking first with 16.5km to go on the Perysourde where he was able to shake all the favorites but Wiggins and Froome. Chris Froome did his work bringing back Nibali the first time, who them attacked again and was brought back. The final time Nibali attacked he pushed Froome to his limits as Wiggins came around and pulled the Sicilian back at the top of the Perysourde. A chasing group of JVDB, Valverde, Cobo, Zubeldia, Teejay and Roche were in pursuit and protecting their respective placings.

Tomorrow, is another stage in the Pyrenees and more climbing. Will the efforts of today hangover to stage 17 and some of the more quiet riders make attacks?

Stage 16 Top Fifteen
1. Thomas Voeckler (EUR)______5h35’02”
2. Chris Anker Sorensen (SAX)__+1’40”
3. Gorka Izaguirre (EUS)_______+3’22”
4. Alexandre Vinokourov (AST)
5. Brice Feillu (SAU)__________+3’58”
6. Jens Voigt (RNT)___________+4’18”
7. Dan Martin (GRM)___________+6’08”
8. Simone Stortoni (LAM)
9. Gianpaolo Caruso (KAT)
10. Laurens Ten Dam (RAB)_____+6’11”
11. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)________+7’09”
12. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)
13. Chris Froome (SKY)
14. Nicolas Roche (ALM)________+8’07”
15. Teejay Van Garderen (BMC)

Full Overall Classification:

Overall Classification after Stage 16
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)_____74h15’32”
2. Chris Froome (SKY)________+2’05”
3. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)_______+2’23”
4. Jurgen VanDenBroeck (LTB)_+5’46”
5. Haimar Zubeldia (RNT)_____+7’13”
6. Teejay Vangarderen (BMC)__+7’55”
7. Cadel Evans (BMC)________+8’06”
8. Janez Brajkovic (AST)_____+9’09”
9. Pierre Rolland (EUR)______+10’10”
10. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_______+11’43”
11. Nicolas Roche (ALM)_______+11’47”
12. Andreas Kloden (RNT)_____+13’14”
13. Chris Horner (RNT)_______+12’41”
14. Chris Sorenesen (SAX)____+14’43”
15. Jerome Coppel (SAU)_____+20’12”
16. Denis Menchov (KAT)______+21’06”
17. Maxime Monfort (RNT)_____+21’26”
18. Egoi Martinez (EUS)______+21’41”
19. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+22’47”
20. Eduard Vorganov (KAT)____+24’20”

Full Overall Classification:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s