Tour de France – Stage 12 – Millar makes it three for GB.

David Millar (GRM) has won the 12th stage of the Tour de France which makes some ammends for the horrible Tour that team Garmin-Sharp has endured. The five man breakaway of the winner Millar as well as JC Peraud, Egoi Martinez, Robert Kiserlovski and Cyril Gauthier built up a massive lead on the peloton of over ten minutes and had plenty of time to cat and mouse their way to the finish to contend the sprint without pressure from anything other than one another. Peraud and Millar were able to break the others and then Millar was able to outsprint Peraud for the win.

The peloton came in some 7 minutes later with Matt Goss besting Peter Sagan in the sprint for points toward the green jersey. However, it wasn’t without some drama as Sagan seemed to believe that Goss moved to the left and attempted to impede him.

Tomorrow, perhaps another day for the sprinters as the tour heads to the coast. The Alps are behind us already as the Tour marches toward Pau the resting pace before the Pyrenees.

Stage 12 Top Five
1. David Millar (GRM)____5h42’46”
2. JC Peraud (ALM)
3. Egoi Martinez (EUS)
4. Cyril Gauthier (EUR)
5. Robert Kiserlovski (AST)

Full Overall Classification:

Overall Classification after Stage 11
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)_____54h34’33”
2. Chris Froome (SKY)________+2’05”
3. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)_______+2’23”
4. Cadel Evans (BMC)________+3’19”
5. Jurgen VanDenBroeck (LTB)_+4’48”
6. Haimar Zubeldia (RNT)_____+6’15”
7. Teejay Vangarderen (BMC)__+6’57”
8. Janez Brajkovic (AST)_____+7’30”
9. Pierre Rolland (EUR)______+8’31”
10. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_______+8’51”
11. Andreas Kloden (RNT)_____+9’29”
12. Frank Schleck (RNT)______+9’45”
13. Nicolas Roche (ALM)_______+10’49”
14. Jerome Coppel (SAU)_____+11’27”
15. Chris Horner (RNT)_______+12’41”
16. Denis Menchov (KAT)______+17’21”
17. Maxime Monfort (RNT)_____+17’41”
18. Egoi Martinez (EUS)______+18’04”
19. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)_+18’55”
20. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+19’02”
21. Chris Anker Sorenson (SAX)_+20’12”
22. Michele Scarponi (LAM)____+20’32”

26. Ivan Basso (LIQ)_________+31’09”

Full Overall Classification:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s