Tour de France – Stage 9 – Wiggins smashes TT

In the first tremendously significant time trial of the Tour de France, Bradley Wiggins has thrown down the gauntlet and won the first major TT of the race. Wiggins took 1’43” out of Cadel Evans, who are the two big favorites for the race. Wiggins had 10 seconds over Evans in the first week, and now starts the second week with 7 seconds short of two minutes.

Chris Froome, the tremendous SKY domestique for Bradley Wiggins set the second best time behind his leader at 51’59” which beat Fabian Cancellara by 21.44″. Remember, Froome is no slouch, he finished second in last year’s Vuelta España and looks like he may be a significant threat for a team sky 1-2 finish in Paris.

Going into tomorrow’s rest day, things couldn’t be looking better for Wiggins and Sky. They have the strongest team, they have only lost one rider in all the crashes and they now have multiple cards to play if necessary.

Tomorrow, is the first rest day of the race. Time for some riders to tend to wounds, time for others to reassess their strategy.

Stage 9 Top Ten
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)_____51’24”
2. Chris Froome (SKY)________+35″
3. Fabian Cancellara (RNT)___+57″
4. Teejay VanGarderen (BMC)__+1’06”
5. Sylvain Chavanel (OPQ)____+1’24”
6. Cadel Evans (BMC)_________+1’43”
7. Peter Velits (OPQ)________+1’59”
8. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)_____+2’07”
9. Denis Menchov (KAT)_______+2’08”
10. Andreas Kloden (RNT)_____+2’09”

Full Overall Classification:

Overall Classification after Stage 9
1. Bradley Wiggins (SKY)_____39h09’20”
2. Cadel Evans (BMC)_________+1’53”
3. Chris Froome (SKY)________+2’07”
4. Vincenzo Nibali (LIQ)_______+2’23”
5. Denis Menchov (KAT)_______+3’02”
6. Haimar Zubeldia (RNT)_____+3’19”
7. Maxime Monfort (RNT)______+4’23”
8. Teejay Vangarderen (BMC)__+5’14”
9. Jurgen VanDenBroeck (LTB)_+5’20”
10. Nicolas Roche (ALM)______+5’29”
11. Rui Costa (MOV)__________+5’46”
12. Rein Taaramae (COF)______+5’56”

14. Janez Brajkovic (AST)____+6’29”

17. Frank Schleck (RNT)______+8’19”

19. Levi Leipheimer (OPQ)____+8’34”

21. Thibault Pinot (FDJ)_____+8’53”
22. Ivan Basso (LIQ)_________+9’06”

25. Pierre Rolland (EUR)_____+10’00”

27. Michele Scarponi (LAM)___+10’27”
28. Alejandro Valverde (MOV)_+10’46”

39. Bauke Mollema (RAB)______+21’34”

67. Dan Martin (GRM)_________+32’03”

Full Overall Classification:


2 thoughts on “Tour de France – Stage 9 – Wiggins smashes TT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s