Giro d’Italia – Stage 11 – Ferrari puts remorse, and Cav, behind him.

Just a week after Mark Cavendish was outraged by a reckless move by Roberto Ferrari in the stage 3 sprint, Ferrari has beaten Cavendish in a near standing-start sprint from a crash in the final corner of today’s stage.

With 11km to go, the peloton had to tackle a poggio-like climb before the finish. The pace up the final climb was furious as Giovanni Visconti (MOV) launched a stunning attack which lifted the pace to break the peloton to pieces. Suddenly, many of the GC guys were thinking they may be able to steal some time against their rivals (F. Schleck lost 46 seconds) and a select group were storming down the mountain. However, one of those riders was Katusha’s Angel Vicioso and he did a remarkable job of controlling the pace for team mate and race leader Joaquim Rodriguez, as a select peloton regrouped.

Heading into the finale, Team Sky wrestled complete control of things until three extremely sharp final corners disrupted the flow. Sky managed to navigate the first two just fine, but on the third they slid wide and a number of riders crashed behind them. However, Mark Cavendish, Francesco Chichi and Roberto Ferrari were only slightly disrupted. In what looked like a standing start sprint, pursuing both Tomas Vaitkus (OGN) and the win, Roberto Ferrari left the other two sprinters long behind him and won the stage with surprising ease. Being too fast? That’s nothing to apologize about.

Stage 11 Top Five
1. Roberto Ferrari (AND)______6h49’05”
2. Francesco Chichi (OPQ)
3. Tomas Vaitkus (OGN)
4. Mark Cavendish (SKY)
5. Manuel Belleti (ALM)

Complete Stage 11 results: Gazzetta Official

General Classification after 11 stages
1. Joaquim Rodriguez (KAT)____42h16’39”
2. Ryder Hesjedal (GRM)_______+17″
3. Paolo Tiralongo (AST)_________+32″
4. Roman Kreuziger (AST)_______+52″
5. Benat Intxausti (MOV)________+52″
6. Ivan Basso (LIQ)___________+57″
7. Damiano Caruso (LIQ)_______+1’02”
8. Dario Cataldo (OPQ)________+1’03”
9. Eros Capecchi (LIQ)_________+1’09”
10. Rigoberto Uran (SKY)_______+1’10”
11. Michele Scarponi (LAM)_____+1’11”
12. Domenico Pozzovivo (COG)__+1’12”
13. Sergio Luis Haeno (SKY)_____+1’27
14. Damiano Cunego (LAM)______+1’37”

24. Frank Schleck (RNT)________+2’11”

29. John Gadret (ALM)___________+2’55”

35. Mikel Nieve (EUS)___________+3’35”

Complete General Classification: Gazzetta Official


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s