Gasparotto wins Amstel Gold

Enrico Gasparotto has timed his final burst to perfection just pipping Jelle Vanendert and Peter Sagan at the line. Oscar Freire, who animated the race with an attack in the last 5km held on for fourth place and at a point looked like he may pull off the surprise win. Freire had 13 seconds over the peloton going into the Cauberg, and 6 seconds over sole chaser Niki Terpstra, but the group was unable to close on Freire until Philippe Gilbert launched his attack from too far out from the finish. With the Gilbert surge, the peloton was blown to bits, and only Gasparotto, Sagan and Vanendert could hold on, but Gilbert himself couldn’t catch Freire and the trio then attacked again, led by Sagan, who also couldn’t hold to the line. Instead, it was Gasparotto who waited and waited and was rewarded by the work of the others. Heartbreak for Oscar Freire, who has never podiumed at Amstel Gold.

2012 Amstel Gold Top Fifteen
1. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana)_________6h32’35”
2. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto Belisol)
3. Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale)
4. Oscar Freire Gomez (Katusha Team)
5. Thomas Voeckler (Team Europcar)
6. Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team)
7. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel)
8. Fabian Wegmann (Garmin)
9. Rinaldo Nocentini (AG2R)
10. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank)
11. Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana)
12. Frank Schleck (Radioshack)
13. Elia Favilli (Farnese-Vini)
14. Dries Devenyns (Omega-Pharma Quickstep)
15. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s