2012 Vuelta route announced – Purito fit to be King?

The 2012 Vuelta route was announced today in Pamplona – the departure city of this year’s race – and it looks to be a climber’s delight. The unconventional route is hardly a Tour of the grand country, and instead plays out as an east-west sufferfest touring the peninsula’s great Northern mountain ranges. With 10 mountain top finishes, 39 cols and a total distance of 3293km, the 2012 Vuelta visits the Pyrenees, the Cordillera Cantábrica, the Galician Massif and the Basque mountains before finishing in Madrid.

Considering this year’s Tour de France is going to be so Time Trial heavy, the Vuelta offers a much more inviting route for those who struggle against the clock, featuring only 40km of ITT. Add that to the fact that most of the climbs are short, steep and punchy and it looks to suite a rider like Joaquim “Purito” Rodriguez perfectly. In fact when asked about the route, Rodriguez replied “There are lots of explosive summit finishes. I like it, I like it, I like it…”

Route detail.
Stage 1, August 18: Pamplona team time trial, 16.2km
Stage 2, August 19: Pamplona-Viana, 180km
Stage 3, August 20: Oion-Arrate (Eibar), 153km
Stage 4, August 21: Barakaldo-Valdezcaray, 155km
Stage 5, August 22: Logroño-Logroño, 172km
Stage 6, August 23: Tarazona-El Fuerte del Rapitán (Jaca), 174km
Stage 7, August 24: Jaca-Motorland (Alcañiz), 160km
Stage 8, August 25: Lleida- Coll de la Gallina (Andorra), 175km
Stage 9, August 26. Andorra-Barcelona, 194km
August 27: Rest day
Stage 10, August 28: Ponteareas-Sanxenxo, 166km

Stage 11, August 29: Cambados-Pontevedra time trial, 40km
Stage 12, August 30: Vilagarcía-Mirador de Ezaro (La Coruña), 184.6km
Stage 13, August 31: Santiago de Compostela-Ferrol, 172.7km
Stage 14, September 1: Palas do Rei-Los Ancares, 152km
Stage 15, September 2: La Robla-Lagos de Covadonga, 186.7km
Stage 16, September 3: Gijón (Villa de Jovellanos)-Cuitu Negro, 185km
September 4: Rest day
Stage 17, September 5: Santander-Fuente Dé, 177km
Stage 18, September 6: Aguilar de Campoo-Valladolid, 186.4km
Stage 19, September 7: Peñafiel-La Lastrilla, 169km
Stage 20, September 8: Palazuelo del Eresma-Bola del Mundo, 169.5km
Stage 21, September 9: Cercedilla-Madrid, 111.9km

Official site: La Vuelta


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s