2011 World Championships – Cavendish in stripes

Mark Cavendish has won the 2011 World Championship and will wear the Rainbow jersey for Team Sky in 2012. Cavendish capped off a true sprinters dual with former teammates Matthew Goss, whom he beat by less than a bike length, and a late surging Andre Greipel who finished milliseconds ahead of surprise 4th place sprinter Fabian Cancellara.

Last year’s winner Thor Hushovd was caught up in a split in the peloton early on and finished outside the top 20. In the Women’s race yesterday, after a strong showing by Canadian Clara Hughes who rode in a solo break for nearly 5km, it was Italian Gorgia Bronzini who beat Marianne Vos (Netherlands) for gold. Vos takes her 5th silver medal and just cannot seem to find that elusive gold.

World Championships Elite Men Road Race
1. Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)
2. Matthew Goss (Australia)
3. André Greipel (Germany)
4. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)
5. Jürgen Roelandts (Belgium)
6. Romain Feillu (France)
7. Borut Bozic (Slovenia)
8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
9. Oscar Freire (Spain)
10. Tyler Farrar (USA)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s