Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal – Rui Costa victorious

Rui Costa (Movistar) was the active man on the day getting in an late 14 man breakaway with 25km to go and holding on to win the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal with just three of his break-mates remaining. The race was a slightly more relaxed affair than the Quebec course which was explosive and chaotic and ended with a Philippe Gilbert win. On the final 12.1km lap of the Montréal circuit, the chase group looked disorganized compared to the hard charging Costa, Fedrigo and Denifl break. Last year’s winner Robert Gensink tried his luck to attack and close the gap on Mont Royal only to be tracked down and Sammy Sanchez looked discontent to wait for the hesitant chase group on the Polytecnic climb, but he was also reeled in. In the end it was too little, too late as Costa and Fedrigo battled it out for the win and Gilbert surged away from the chase group to overtake Denifl for third.

GP Cycliste de Montréal Top 10
1. Rui Costa (Movistar)_________5h20’16”
2. Pierrick Fedrigo (FDJ)
3. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_____+:02
4. Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto)
5. Stefan Denifl (Leopard)
6. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre)
7. Marco Marcato (VacanSoleil)
8. Arthur Vichot (FDJ)
9. Rinaldo Nocentini (AG2R)
10. Fabian Wegmann (Leopard)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s