La Vuelta – Stage 1 TTT – Leopard strikes first

Jacob Fulgsang and his Leopard-Trek team have set the fastest time to open the 2011 Vuelta a España. Fulgsang takes the Red leader’s jersey off the shoulders of last year’s winner Vincenzo Nibali, whose Liquigas team could only garner third place. It was a disastrous day for Team Sky and Bradley Wiggins as well as Geox, Menchov and Sastre as both teams had mechanical problems and crashes which saw them fall 43 seconds off the lead in the first stage coming in 20th and 21st place respectively.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s