Clásica de San Sebastian – Gilbert, again.

Philippe Gilbert has another classic to add to this year’s collection as he won the Clásica de San Sebastian in convincing style coming over the line alone after 227km of racing. Gilbert attacked a select group of riders within the final 3km and chased down Carlos Barredo, who had been alone for about 5km, to take the race lead with only Samuel Sanchez and Haimar Zubeldia reacting to Gilbert’s strong push. The main group containing Frank Schleck, Joaquim Rodriguez, Greg Vanavermaet, Dries Devenyns and Rigoberto Uran chased down Sanchez and Zubeldia and once they caught the duo they immediately stopped pursuing further for Gilbert. This sealed the win for Gilbert and a frustrated and impatient Barredo attacked the group again to take second place.

Clásica de San Sebastian Top Ten
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_______5h48’52”
2. Carlos Barredo (Rabobank)______+12″
3. Greg VanAvermaet (BMC)_________+14″
4. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)
5. Dries Devenyns (Quickstep)
6. Frank Schleck (Leopard)
7. Haimar Zubeldia (Radioshack)
8. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel)
9. Rigoberto Uran (Sky)
10 Jelle Vanendert (Lotto)________+50″


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s