Giro D’Italia – Stage 20 – Penultimate showdown

Vasil Kiryienka (Movistar) has won the final mountain stage of the Giro D’Italia, which all but solidifies the GC standings except for the few placings separated by less than 1’30”-2’00 or so. The stage was set for an epic showdown with the Fenestre and Sestriere double but, to my eye, it never happened. Kiryienka attacked from a huge distance out and built a lead of over 5 minutes which he held until the line as there was no reason to chase with him out of GC Contention. Jose Rujano also attacked on the paved slopes of Fenestre, but was eventually reeled into striking distance finishing only a few car lengths ahead of Joaquim Rodriguez. There was a final attack of sorts within the last three km and it was Vincezo Nibali who was left behind losing some 20 seconds to Michele Scarponi which may prove enough of a gap for Scarponi to hold his second place on the podium.

Tomorrow’s final ITT stage into Milan is now 26.0km, shortened from the 31.0km it was originally planned to be because of some traffic issues in greater Milan. At that length it is certainly possible to see time gaps of 1’10” for every 2 kmph difference. I’m not sure we’ll see gaps of greater than 1’40” even if one guy has the TT of his life (Menchov) and the other has a complete disaster (Rodriguez). So, what we see today, should be similar to what we see tomorrow.

Stage 20 Top Five
1. Vasil Kiryienka (Movistar)_____ 6h17’03”
2. Jose Rujano (Androni)________+4’43”
3. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)__+4’50”
4. Carlos Betancourt (Acqua)____+5’31”
5. John Gadret (AG2R)__________+5’54”

Full Stage results: Gazzetta official

Overall Classification after 20 stages
1. Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank)_____83:34:25
2. Michele Scarponi (Lampre)_______+5’18”
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)________+6’14” (+:56″ on Scarponi)
4. John Gadret (AG2R)_____________+7’49”
5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)_____+9’27”
6. Jose Rujano (Androni)___________+10’23” (+:56″ on J-Rod)
7. Roman Kreuziger (Astana)_______+10’38” (+1’11” on J-Rod)
8. Denis Menchov (Geox)__________+10’51” (+1’24” on J-Rod)
9. Kanstantsin Sivtsov (HTC)________+11’53”
10. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel)__________+12’03”

Full GC: Gazzetta official


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s