2011 Fleche-Wallonne – Gilbert again!

I have witnessed the incredible. I’m almost lost for words at how dominant Gilbert is at the current moment. I have never seen any rider attack on the Muur de Huy from so far out, drop the super-fly-weight climbers like Rodriguez, Schleck, Contador, and hold the win with such a convincing gap that there is time to play around before the finish. Seriously, who is this guy?

The Fleche-Wallonne is a race which can be summarized by the final 200m. Every year riders go in vain too early and explode up the “wall of Huy.” The strategy to winning the Fleche-Wallonne is holding your hand for so long you almost bluff yourself off the podium and attack at the last seconds, within the last 200km. Alejandro Valverde did it perfectly in 2006. Cadel Evans did it perfectly last year. Those are the rules, unless, you are Gilbert. He stormed the Huy from some 400-500m out and Rodriguez tried to follow, but understandably exploded hanging on for second as a late charging Samuel Sanchez knew the rules and passed about 7 guys to finish third. Unbelievable, Gilbert is unbelievable.

2011 Fleche-Wallonne Top Fifteen
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)________4:54:57
2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)
3. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel)
4. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana)
5. Igor Anton (Euskaltel)
6. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto)
7. Frank Schleck (Leopard)
8. Daniel Moreno (Katusha)
9. Christophe Le Mevel (Garmin)
10. Paul Martens (Rabobank)
11. Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank)
12. Michael Albasini (HTC)
13. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin)
14. Robert Gesink (Rabobank)
15. Bert De Waelle (LandbouwKrediet)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s