2011 Amstel Gold Race

Philippe Gilbert is to hilly classics what Fabian Cancellara is to flat classics. Gilbert won his second consequtive Amstel Gold race, quite easily, as he stormed past Andy Schleck, hunted down Joaquim Rodriguez and took the line first.

It looked as though the late surge by Joaquim Rodriguez on the Cauberg would be enough to secure the win as he can fly up a hill at fast as anyone, but somehow Gilbert found another gear.

2011 Amstel Gold Top Ten
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)
2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha)
3. Simon Gerrans (Sky)
4. Jacob Fugslang (Leopard)
5. Alexander Kolobnev (Katusha)
6. Oscar Freire (Rabobank)
7. Bjorn Leukemans (VacanSoleil)
8. Ben Hermans (Radioshack)
9. Robert Gesink (Rabobank)
10. Paul Martens (Rabobank)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s