2010 Giro di Lombardia – Gilbert wins again!

Philippe Gilbert has won the Giro di Lombardia for the second year in a row. Gilbert excelled in the wet and cold conditions in the last big race of the season, the fall classic and the fifth and final monument of the year. Scarponi finished second, maybe increasing his teams chances at more appearances next season and Spaniard Pablo Lastras Garcia took third for his Caisse D’Epargne team. The weather was so foul that only 34 riders finished. Anyone surprised it was Belgian who won?

Giro di Lombardia Top Ten
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)____________6:46:32
2. Michele Scarponi (Androni)________+0:12
3. Pablo Lastras (Caisse)____________+0:55
4. Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank)_______+1:08
5. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)__________s.t.
6. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel)_______+1:12
7. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel)____________+2:07
8. Mauro Santambrogio (BMC) ________+3:01
9. Carlos Barredo (Quick Step)________+3:25
10. Giampaolo Caruso (Katusha)_______+3:50


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s