Vuelta a España – Stage 3

Philippe Gilbert (Lotto) has won the third stage of the 75th Vuelta a España with an uphill sprint into Malaga. Gilbert and the peloton caught Martinez (Xacobeo) with 1km to go and Gilbert, who attacked a little early, was able to put a gap into the group with a strong second surge that only Joaquin Rodriguez could match. In the end Purito couldn’t close the distance and finished second to Gilbert who now holds the leaders jersey on top of claiming the stage.

Stage 3 Top Three
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_______4:06:12
2. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha)__:03
3. Igor Anton (Euskaltel)_______:13

I’ve missed the first two stages, the TTT and the 2nd stage to Marbella, but the leaders jersey was previously held by Mark Cavendish after his HTC-Columbia team won the TTT. The second stage was fit for Cavendish to defend his jersey as it was a flat sprint finish into Marbella, but in a surprise result, we saw Cav finish second to Hutarovich in the sprint.

That set the stage for today’s action, which was a hillier course and one that would likely see Cavendish finish well behind the leaders. It looked for a while as if Serafin Martínez of Xacobeo-Galicia was destine to win the stage and take the leaders jersey, but pro-racing is a cruel and unforgiving sport and the peloton amazingly clawed back the time and Serafin was no longer a threat.

Stage 3 Top Ten:
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_______4:06:12
2. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha)__+:03″
3. Igor Anton (Euskaltel)________+:13″
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)_____+:15″
5. Grega Bole (Lampre)_________+:15’’
6. Nicholas Roche (AG2R)_______+:15’’
7. Denis Menchov (Rabobank)____+:18’’
8. Ezequiel Mosquera (Xacobeo)___+:19’’
9. David Arroyo (Caisse D’Epargne)_+:19’’
10. Arthur Vichot (FDJ)___________+:19’’

For full stage results visit La Vuelta

GC Top Ten after 3 Stages
1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_______4:06:12
2. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha)__+:14″
3. Konstantin Svitov (HTC)______+:22″
4. Teejay Van Garderen (HTC)___+:26″
5. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)_____+:28″
6. Peter Velits (HTC)___________+:28″
7. Igor Anton (Euskaltel)________+:35″
8. Xavier Tondo (Cervelo)_______+:35’’
9. Frank Schleck (Saxo Bank)____+:36’’
10. Xavier Florencio (Cervelo)____+:41’’

13. Roman Kreuziger (Liquigas)___+:43″
14. Carlos Sastre (Cervelo)______+:46″

16. David Arroyo (Caisse D’Epargne)_+:47″

24. Nicholas Roche (AG2R)_________+:51’’

27. Luis Leon Sanchez (Caisse)_____+:53″

32. Denis Menchov (Rabobank)_____+:57’’

98. Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank)______+14′ 27″

100. Christian VandeVelde (Garmin)__+14′ 30″

For Full GC Standings after 3 Stages visit La Vuelta


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s