2010 Cima Coppi Tour – Day 14 – Bagnères > Saint-Girons

With no plan any route will do, and with no computer, any speed will do. I woke up to the gentle sound of raindrops clinking off the metal flashing of the roof of the flat I was staying in. More rain. By the time breakfast was through it had all but stopped, but the massive clouds moving south from Bagnères-de-Bigorre at the base of the Pyrenees into those same mountains was enough to discourage me from heading that direction. Aspin and Peyresourde would have to wait until the next trip as I was heading straight to Saint Girons. As I rolled out of Bagnères I wouldn’t say I was feeling ‘up’, as I was probably closer to feeling ‘meh’. However, as soon as I pressed the mode button on my cycle computer with enough forward force to launch it out of it’s support, and send it skidding across the road, ‘meh’ turned to ‘blah’. When a car ran it over 2 seconds later, ‘blah’ turned to ‘really crap’.

Final Numbers for the day
Bagnères-de-Bigorre > Saint – Girons: 102km (939km – 7 days)
0 Cols – (890m gain)
Average speed: N/A
Time: ~ 3hrs 40m.
Bike Map: 485650

With clouds hanging over me in the morning, and the direct route to Saint-Girons, I’ve got to be honest, the day was pretty uneventful. I was still fuming about my computer, and the fact that the windy route I chose was made much more difficult by not having the km display. I got lost two or three times within one short stretch, and then once that delay was through, I was in Saint-Girons before I knew it. I ended up having 4 hours to kill before I could meet my hosts, and I did so by eating a lot of ice cream and relaxing in the sun that was visiting the valley I rode into. What can I say? That was pretty much it.

Final Numbers for the day
Bagnères-de-Bigorre > Saint – Girons: 102km (939km – 6 days)
0 Cols – (890m gain)
Average speed: N/A
Time: ~ 3hrs 40m.
Bike Map: 485650

The lush foothills of the Pyrenees, and the clouds amongst them
The only significant climb of the day.
Beautiful Saint-Girons
Leave a Reply

