Touring and Gear – Part II, Tools

This post will be pretty straight forward, as the tools I bring along are standard enough and they are selected to fit inside a 750ml tool and tube container made by BBB (pictured above) with room to spare. I carry the following:

– Spare tube wrapped in an old sock. The old sock can be useful for not only protecting the tube, but wiping down a chain if needed.

– Allen Keys tucked inside the folded sock in the following sizes
-2.0mm (for Campy adjustment screws on brakes)
-2.5mm (just in case)
-3.0mm (Bottle cage bolts, dropouts)
-3.5mm (Look seatstay intersect bolt)
-4.0mm (Stem bolts)
-5.0mm (Standard cable, brakes, chainring bolts)
-6.0mm (Seat post bolt for saddle adjustment)
-8.0mm adaptor (Crank arm bolts, pedals)

– Two tire levers and a patch kit.

-Tire boot kit. It’s smaller and lighter than a spare tire and can handle even the biggest slices. It can be hard at times to find 700c tires, so this is itinerary dependant, but normally I don’t carry a spare tire.

– Double ended Philips/flat screwdriver with removable handle left behind, for your derailleur adjustment limits.

– 15mm wrench for pedals, although my Look pedals use and 8mm Allen key.

– Micro travel lock. I trust this for any action which leaves the bike out of grip, but not out of site for about five minutes max., ie: Going inside a Boulangerie to buy lunch. It’s also good on trains. I don’t carry another lock because I would be too paranoid about my leaving my bike unattended.

– Micro swiss army knife, with scissors.

– Micro chain breaker.

– Pair of latex gloves.

Normally I also carry a spare spoke taped to the chain stay and a micro spoke key with all nipple sizes. On this journey, however, I have un-traditional wheels, which is a whole other long story regarding why. I am just crossing my fingers I don’t have any spoke problems as this is not my preferred method, and I will have standard 32 spoke hand-built wheels in the near future.

2 thoughts on “Touring and Gear – Part II, Tools

  1. Pascale wants to know why the gloves… grease? I mean, sure they are light weight, but how many uses would they endure?

    Also, dog collar chains make good compact locks, Stainless steel is really hard to cut lacking large bolt cutters.

    1. About the gloves… two words: White Bartape.

      No seriously, the gloves are surprisingly resilient, and are great if you have a really really messy repair. However, I end up just carrying them around and never using them.

      How they are likely to be more handy, no pun intended, are as elastics. Something needs to be held under tension and you have 10 little stretchy fingers that can be tied in knots, and cut with the scissors in the tiny knife.

Leave a Reply

