Giro D’Italia – Stage 16 TT

Stefano Garzelli has won the TT 16th stage of the Giro D’Italia on the suffer-fest named Plan de Corones. The uphill time trial stage which was touted the be a decisive one for the overall standings, didn’t produce the time gaps that were perhaps expected, but it did mix the GC standings a little.

Winners today: Garzelli – the old guy still has some tricks up his sleeve. Evans – Solid second place, and first of the GC contenders, he jumps up to fourth place. David Arroyo – he lost time, but less than expected. Can he hang on to the Maglia Rosa for 3 more decisive days?

Losers today: Carlos Sastre – no one was a bigger loser today than Sastre who finished + 2:31 seconds to Garzelli, but more importantly +1:49 to Evans and +1:21 to Basso. Sastre was, quite simply, the worst of anyone competing for a top ten placing less Marco Pinotti and now he will likely miss the podium unless he pulls of a miracle in the coming days.

Watch the winner’s finish: RAI Sport

Stage 16 Top Three:

1. Stefano Garzelli (Acqua Sapone)_______41’28”
2. Cadel Evans (BMC)__________________+0:42
3. John Gadret (AG2R)_________________+0:54

1. Stefano Garzelli (Acqua Sapone)_______41’28”
2. Cadel Evans (BMC)__________________+0:42
3. John Gadret (AG2R)_________________+0:54
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)_____________+1:01
5. Michele Scarponi (AND)_______________+1:07
6. Ivan Basso (Liquigas)_________________+1:10
7. Rigoberto Uran (Caisse D’Epargne)______+1:36
8. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana)_________+1:37
9. Dario Caltaldo (Quickstep)_____________+1:41
10. Evgeni Petrov (Katusha)_____________+1:46

14. Damiano Cunego (Lampre)____________+2:10

16. David Arroyo (Caisse D’Epargne)_______+2:16
17. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank)_____________+ 2:17

19. Carlos Sastre (Cervelo)_______________+2:31

Visit for full stage 16 results

GC Standings after 16 stages

1. David Arroyo (Caisse D’Epargne)______67:48:42
2. Ivan Basso (Liquigas)_______________+2:27
3. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank)_____________+2:36
4. Cadel Evans (BMC)_________________+3:09
5. Carlos Sastre (Cervélo)______________+ 4:36
6. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)__________+4:53
7. Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)______+5:12
8. Michele Scarponi (AND)____________+5:25

Visit for full GC standings


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s