Giro D’Italia Stage 12

Is that not the face of relief? In a day when the cycling world has been stunned by Floyd Landis’ tell all confession and implication of systematic doping within the US Postal cycling team, it may have never been more true that the whole cycling world needed a feel-good story. The tre-colore was perhaps never so bright for Italians and Giro D’Italia fans as it took 12 stages to produce the first Italian winner in the 2010 Giro D’Italia and Pippo Pozzato, wearing the national champions jersey stepped up on the podium.

I nearly cannot comprehend the madness that has ensued in the last 24 hours of pro-cycling, and perhaps I don’t need to. With the Stage 11 coup being flown, the confession and implications that could rock an empire and Cadel Evans literally getting into fisticuffs on the road today with a Katusha rider and a Lampre rider, I had nearly seen and heard my limit. But somehow, someway, seeing Pozzato climb onto the podium with all of Italy celebrating was a feel-good-enough story for me to turn my attention away from that madness and on to something bellissimo. Bravo Pippo, Bravo.

Watch the last km: RAI Sport

Stage 12 Top Three
1. Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)_________5:15:50
2. Thomas Vockler (BBox)___________s.t.
3. Jerome Pineau (Quickstep)________s.t.

Stage 12 Results
1. Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)_________5:15:50
2. Thomas Vockler (BBox)___________s.t.
3. Jerome Pineau (Quickstep)________s.t.
4. Stefano Garzelli (Acqua Sapone)___s.t.
5. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana)_____s.t.
6. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)__________s.t.
7. Marco Pinotti (Columbia)__________s.t.
8. Michele Scarponi (AND)___________s.t.

Visit for full stage 12 results

GC Standings after stage 12

1. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank)_____________45:30:16
2. David Arroyo (Caisse d’Epargne)______+ 1:42
3. Robert Kiserlovski (Liquigas)_________+ 1:56
4. Xavier Tondo (Cervélo)______________+ 3:54
5. Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas)____________+ 4:41
6. Alexander Efimkin (AG2R)___________+ 5:16
7. Linus Gerdemann (Milram)___________+ 5:34
8. Carlos Sastre (Cervélo)______________+ 7:09
9. Laurent Didier (Saxo Bank)___________+7:24
10. Bradley Wiggins (Sky)_______________+8:14
11. Jan Bakelants (Lotto)_______________+8:35
12. Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)______+9:48
13. Cadel Evans (BMC)_________________+11:10
14. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)__________+11:18
15. Ivan Basso (Liquigas)_______________+11:39
16. Marco Pinotti (Columbia)____________+12:05
17. Francis DeGreef (Lotto)_____________+12:21
18. Vladimir Karpets (Katusha)__________+12:32
19. Stefano Garzelli (Aqua Sapone)______+12:32
20. Damiano Cunego (Lampre)__________+12:53
21. Michele Scarpoini (AND)____________+12:54

Visit for full GC standings


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s