2010 Giro D’Italia – Stage 9

Matthew Goss has won the 9th stage of the Giro D’Italia in a chaotic and slightly uphill sprint that was initiated by the sprinters (Henderson, Sky), contested by the GC leaders (Vinokourov, Evans), controlled by the classics riders (Farrar, Pozzato) and finished by the lead-out-man Matthew Goss.

The best two ways to summarize the 9th stage along the Amalfia coast are rain and a lack of attention. The former because weather was terrible with torrential downpours for much of the stage. The latter because although I’m not certain if the weather lead to a passive peloton or not, but if I see Alexandr Vinokourov taking his rain jacket off and tightening his shoe straps, I will interpret these actions as him about to lay a kicking on my arse. However, numerous of his main competitors, Cadel Evans, Ivan Basso and to a lesser extent Carlos Sastre – who flatted at the most inopportune moment – were caught chasing hard as the peloton split with 20km remaining. The main favorites were able to respond, finishing with the Maglia Rosa, but Sastre, again, lost huge time today, 1:49 back, as Team Cervelo is doing an embarrassingly poor job of supporting their leader. If Sastre’s hopes for the overall were not finished with his 5 minutes lost in Saturday’s crash, or the 1min lost on the climb yesterday, they were with today’s 1:30 due to a flat. It’s time he re-focuses his seasons goals around the Tour de France or Vuelta and goes stage hunting in this Giro.

Watch the last km: Rai Sport

Stage 9 Top Three
1. Matt Goss (Columbia) _____4:08:17
2. Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)__s.t.
3. Tyler Farrar (Garmin)______s.t.

Stage 9 results
1. Matt Goss (Columbia) _______4:08:17
2. Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)____s.t.
3. Tyler Farrar (Garmin)________s.t.
4. Robert Förster (Milram)______s.t.
5. Frederico Canuti (Colnago)___s.t.
6. Sebastien Hinault (AG2R)_____s.t.
7. Wouter Weylandt (Quickstep)_s.t.
8. Greg Henderson (Sky)_______s.t.
9. Jos Van Emden (Rabobank)___s.t.
10. Markus Eibegger (Foot-on)__s.t.

Visit Gazetta.it for full stage 9 results

GC after stage 9

1. Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)_________24:09:42
2. Cadel Evans (BMC)____________________+1:12
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)______________+1:33
4. Ivan Basso (Liquigas)__________________+1:51
5. Marco Pinotti (Columbia)_______________+2:17
6. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank)_______________+2:26
7. Vladimir Karpets (Katusha)_____________+2:34
8. Stefano Garzelli (Aqua Sapone)_________+2:47
9. Damiano Cunego (Lampre)_____________+3:08
10. Michele Scarpoini (AND)_______________+3:09
11. David Duran Arroyo (Caisse D’Epargne)__+4:22

21. Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram)________+8:14

22. Carlos Sastre (Cervelo)_______________+9:59

24. Bradley Wiggins (Sky)_________________+10:54

Visit Gazetta.it for full GC standings


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s