Giro D’Italia – Stage 6

We got our first look at some elevation in this year’s Giro D’Italia and Matthew Lloyd made it two consecutive breakaways that have produced winners as he won in solo fashion today. The stage did little to change up the gaps in GC standings but it did bring the contenders together into the top 20. Today’s stage also did reinforce the ideas that Gilberto Simoni (finishing +11:30) and David Moncoutie (finishing +6:07) are certainly not in the Giro for anything more than an attempt at a third-week-stage-win.

Other than that, there is little to talk about for this stage, as it went by without a great deal of drama, although there were three DNF riders: Paolo Tiralongo (Astana), Michele Merlo (Foot-on) and Guillaume Bonnafond (AG2R). So in lieu of drama we can instead focus our conversation on the antics of Danilo Hondo, who celebrated going over the line – with arms in the air – for, um, third place. You did see the guy 50m in front of you, and know about the winner 1 minute ahead of him didn’t you Danilo? Well, that’s about all the drama the stage gave us.

1. Matthew Lloyd (Lotto)____4:24:20
2. Rubens Berogliati (AND)___+1:06
3. Danilo Hondo (Lampre)____+1:15

Stage 6 results
1. Matthew Lloyd (Lotto)__________4:24:20
2. Rubens Berogliati (AND)_________+1:06
3. Danilo Hondo (Lampre)__________+1:15
4. Manuel Belletti (Colnago)________s.t.
5. Fillipo Pozzato (Katusha)________s.t.
6. William Bonnet (BBox)__________s.t.
7. Sacha Modolo (Colnago)________s.t.
8. Vasil Kiryienka (Caisse D’Epargne)_s.t.

Visit for full results

GC after stage 6

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)______________10:44:00
2. Ivan Basso (Liquigas)__________________+0:13
3. Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas)_______________+0:20
4. Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana)_________+0:33
5. Vladimir Karpets (Katusha)_____________+0:39
6. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank)_______________+0:45
7. David Millar (Garmin-Transitions)_______+0:45
8. Baden Cooke (Saxo Bank)______________+1:03
9. Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram)________+1:04
10. Laurent Didier (Saxo Bank)____________+1:13

16. Cadel Evans (BMC)___________________+1:59

20. Carlos Sastre (Cervelo)_______________+2:13

21. Michele Scarpoini (AND)_______________+2:35

23. Stefano Garzelli (Aqua Sapone)_________+2:49

26. Damiano Cunego (Lampre)_____________+3:45

31. Bradley Wiggins (Sky)_________________+4:36

Visit for the full GC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s