Esto pasa, otra vez! (It’s on, again!)

Step one. Check. I’ve booked my flight so that means we have full systems go for the 2010 Cima Coppi Tour. As was the case last year, I’ll be letting you inside my life a little as I plan, prepare for and ride this year’s edition of the Cima Coppi Tour.

To recap, last year was a 15 day, 3000km ride with highlights including a 10 days shadowing the Giro D’Italia, the Milan-San Remo and 3 Tour de France stages. If you want to read about last year’s tour, this is as good a place to start as any.

So here we are again, with the same feelings of excitement and anticipation of another European bike tour. After a few initial attempts at planning the ride, which can be seen in the ‘Tour Info’ archive beginning here, I will be back to the drawing board with some minor modifications as the flight dates I have just purchased are not the same that I originally planned around.

Here’s what I know for sure. I’ll be leaving Vancouver on the 10th of July, and again entrusting my place and gardening duties to my younger brother (please remember to water the tomatoes) and I’ll be arriving in Madrid on the 11th of July. So the veggies will be well taken care of and I will be in Spain again, finally. I also know that I will be returning to Vancouver some 36 (!) days later. Beyond that, we have a wedding on the 17th, some business to do in Aragon, and a whole slew of riding planned.

I’ll be flying with Air Transat again, but this time with my partner and only her bike. BTW, unlike last year, Air Transat now charges $30 to take a bicycle, which is bogus if you ask me. No more positive write-up for those guys. Considering last year they changed the bike payment policy after I had already paid and booked and then surprised me with their payment request as I was standing in line in my flip-flops, shorts and bike jersey I’m not going to be so generous with my approval of their ‘low-cost’ services. Thanks, Air Transat for not being understanding enough to waive the fee considering that I didn’t even have a single bag, not to mention the two allowed, and only one very light bike box which was well under my allowable baggage limit. Moving along, nothing to see here.

So stay tuned as the next two months I will be giving frequent updates on the planning, training and lead-up to the 2010 Cima Coppi Tour. Then, follow the blog as I complete the ride, report back with my experiences, photos, stories and certain drama on the ride.

Leave a Reply

