2010 Liège-Bastogne-Liège results

Alexander Vinokourov has won the 2010 Liège-Bastogne-Liège beating Alexandr Kolobnev to the line. The race was an attack-filled, dramatic battle, over the last 20km as favorite after favorite attempted to make a break stick. It wasn’t until Vinokourov answered a strong push by Andy Schleck just two kilometers earlier that anyone got a gap that looked truly dangerous. Kolobnev was quick to respond and bridged working with Vino to get a lead which was too large to close. It’s been a strong return to form shown by Vinokourov as he prepares for the Giro D’Italia in just two weeks.

Third place was captured in the final sprint by Alejandro Valverde followed by Gilbert and Evans. Andy Schleck was sixth leading the peloton to the line as it was quickly closing on the chasing group as they played cat and mouse heading toward the finish.

1. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana) ______6:37:48
2. Alexandr Kolobnev (Katusha)_________+0:06″
3. Alejandro Valverde (Caisse D’Epargne)_+1:04″

Watch the last km at Sporza.be

With ten kilometers remaining the chasing group of Valverde, Evans and Gilbert couldn’t close the gap on the two leaders while the peloton was in-fighting as opposed to chasing hard. With six km remaining Andy Schleck attacked the peloton with Contador and Igro Anton following while seconds later, and further up the road, Gilbert attacked and dropping first Evans and then 500m later Valverde couldn’t hang on. Entering the final two kilometers it was Vinokourov leading Kolobnev, followed by a solo Gilbert, 34 seconds in arrears with Evans and Valverde chasing hard a further 9 seconds back. However, Evans and Valverde worked together efficiently and reeled in Gilbert with the group of three riding together going into the final 500m.

more to come….

2010 Liège-Bastogne-Liège results:
1. Alexander Vinokourov (Astana) ______6:37:48
2. Alexandr Kolobnev (Katusha)_________+0:06″
3. Alejandro Valverde (Caisse D’Epargne)_+1:04″
4 Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto)_+1:04″
5 Cadel Evans (Astana)_______________+1:04″
6 Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank)___________+1:07″
7 Igor Antón (Euskaltel-Euskadi)________+1:07″
8 Chris Horner (RadioShack)____________+1:07″
9 Frank Schleck (Saxo Bank)___________+1:07″
10 Alberto Contador (Astana)__________+1:07″
11 Thomas Voeckler (BBox Bouygues)____+1:18
12 Simon Gerrans (Sky)
13 Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin – Transitions)
14 Benoît Vaugrenard (Française Des Jeux)
15 Paul Martens (Rabobank)
16 Robert Gesink (Rabobank)
17 Fabian Wegmann (Team Milram)
18 Stefano Garzelli (Acqua & Sapone)
19 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Omega Pharma-Lotto)
20 Carlos Barredo (Quick Step)
21 Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Farnese Vini)
22 Nicolas Roche (AG2R La Mondiale)________+1:22
23 Jérôme Baugnies (Topsport)
24 Stephen Cummings (Sky)
25 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Omega)________+1:25


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s