Amstel Gold Race – Results

Philippe Gilbert has won the 2010 Amstel Gold race with a massive surge within the last 500m beating a somewhat surprising duo of Canadian Ryder Hesjedal and Enrico Gasparotto to the line.

It was Philippe Gilbert answering repeated attacks by last years winner Sergei Ivanov on the Keutenberg. Gilbert had built a small lead but the chase group of Kolobnev, Frank Schleck, Damiano Cunego and Sergei Ivanov were quick to respond.

Watch the final km here:

1. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)____6:22:54
2. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin)
3. Enrico Gasparotto (Astana)

Kolobnev himself attacked again with 7km to go and had built a sizable lead himself until Roman Kreuziger made a huge effort to bridge pulling nearly everyone with him. The second chase group was pulled by Kreuziger up to the first and past them bringing a group of some 25 riders together. Kolobnev had the lead heading into the final km but the entire group came together in the last 700m and Gilbert showed his composure waiting until 500m to fire off the winning move. Hesjedal himself made a massive dig to shoot up the standings passing Gasparotto at the line just meters behind Gilbert.

2010 Amstel Gold Race results:
1 GILBERT Philippe, BEL (OmegaPharma – Lotto) 6:22:54
2 HESJEDAL Ryder, CAN (Garmin-Transitions)
3 GASPAROTTO Enrico, ITA (Astana)
4 DE WAELE Bert, BEL (Landbouwkrediet)
5 KREUZIGER Roman, ITA (Liquigas)
6 CUNEGO Damian, ITA (Lampre)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s