2010 Paris Roubaix

photo: AFP

Fabian Cancellara has equaled history becoming the first Swiss rider since Heiri Suter did it in 1923 to win both the Ronde van Vlaanderen and Paris – Roubaix in the same year. Fabian won today in Roubaix in the same dominating style that he won in Flanders. Cancellara attacked the field from about 50 kms out and rode away from an uninspired chasing group which included 2009 champ Tom Boonen, who finished 5th. At one point Cancellara had built up a lead of three minutes over the chasers Boonen, Flecha, Hushovd, Hammond, Leukemans, Hoste and Pozzato.

1 Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank)___6:35:10
2 Thor Hushovd (Cervelo)_________+ 02:00
3 Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky)_______s.t.

Watch Highlights from Sporza.be

The race unfolded as expected until the 50 km mark when a series of attacks were launched and a passive looking peleton set up the culture for what was to come. First, it was Leif Hoste, Bjorn Leukemans, and Sébastien Hinault who tried their luck with a break. Few of the big names seemed willing to chase and Boonen himself seemed to be more interested in rallying the troops than repeatedly chasing down ever attack.

Then, after the favorites seemed to announce to the group, they weren’t interested in working any harder, Cancellara attacked while Boonen was at the back eating food to get some energy for the finale. Cancellara bridged easily to the three in front, and then powered away from them with only Leukemans putting in a heroic effort to stay with him. However, it was all for not, as Cancellara grabbed a little draft off one of the camera motos and sped away from Leukemans.

Boonen chased in vain as the other favorites, Flecha and Hushovd let him do all the work and they just followed saving their energy for what ultimately became the sprint for second between them. With that, the previous winner of Paris Roubaix was finished. Without help from his team, and being nearly solely responsible for trying to claw Fabian back, Torpedo Tom had no arsenal remaining and was so physically defeated through his efforts, that he couldn’t manage to even take the sprint for a fourth place, let alone a fourth win.

2010 Paris-Roubaix results:
1 Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank)_______262 km in 6:35:10
2 Thor Hushovd (Cervelo TestTeam)____+ 02:00
3 Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky)___________s.t.
4 Roger Hammond (Cervelo)___________+ 03:14
5 Tom Boonen (Quick Step)___________s.t.
6 Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil)________+ 03:20
7 Filippo Pozzato (Katusha)____________+ 03:46
8 Leif Hoste (Omega Pharma – Lotto)____+ 05:16
9 Sébastien Hinault (Ag2r-La Mondiale)__+ 06:27
10 Hayden Roulston (HTC-Columbia)_____+ 06:59


2 thoughts on “2010 Paris Roubaix

  1. I’m happy Thor got second, I was cheering for him. How did it go at the cafe? I was going to come but watched it from bed instead.

    Any group rides happening?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s