2010 Ronde van Vlaaderen results

Fabian Cancellara has won the 2010 Ronde van Vlaaderen. He is an absolute powerhouse, and it was awe-inspiring to see him put 30+ seconds into Tom Boonen in about 1.5km after an incredible acceleration on the Muur.

The race, as expected, was sorted on the Koppenberg where last year’s winner Stijn Devolder was subject to the walk of shame. Devolder, who has been dodging accusations all week that he didn’t have the form to win, was caught in the middle of the pack, held up on the ascent of the Koppenberg, and ended up off the bike.

30kms later a split happened with Boonen and Cancellara getting away alone on the Molenberg. They built a lead of 1min on the chasing group heading into the Muur. Boonen hit the Muur first and seemed content to work with Cancellara up the climb, as the two swapped the lead a couple of times, and then suddenly as the two approached the iconic church on the rise, Cancellara, powering up at a very high pace, got a gap of about a meter, and that was all he needed. From there, the team radio crackled that he had a gap and Fabian did the rest as he powered away.

1. Fabian Cancellara (Saxo Bank)__6:52:32″
2. Tom Boonen (Quickstep)_______+ 1’14”
3. Philippe Gilbert (Lotto)_________+ 2’10”

Highlights from Sporza.be

1. Fabian Cancellara_______6h52’32”
2. Tom Boonen___________+ 1’14”
3. Philippe Gilbert_________+ 2’10”
4. Bjorn Leukemans_______+ 2’14”
5. Tyler Farrer___________+ 3’00”
6. George Hincapie
7. Roger Hammond
8. Maxim Iglinsky
9. Danilo Hondo
10. William Bonnet


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s