Paris – Nice – Final Stage and results.

Photo: AP

Alberto Contador put on a exemplary display of aggressive defense in the final stage of the Paris-Nice to secure his overall lead and win the 2010 Paris – Nice. Contador never gave much change to Valverde as he repeatedly attacked or lead Valverde up the Col d’Eze negating any opportunity for the Murcian to build time on the Madrileño. Although Valverde had a slim chance to make up the 14 seconds he trailed by, through sprint bonuses and a small finishing gap combined, he only managed one 3 sec. bonus in the final sprint and ended the day 11 seconds back. Amaël Moinard won the final stage and the king of the mountains jersey.

“It’s very difficult to win a race when you’re the favourite. When everybody is after you and you win, it’s a liberation,” Contador told “Today it was short but intense as I had to reply to every attack. It was a great emotion on the podium as it would have been a pity to lose a big race like Paris-Nice on sprint bonuses.”

Fellow Spaniard and Murcian Luis León Sánchez faired slightly better than Valverde picking up an intermediate sprint bonus to leapfrog Roman Kreuziger to finish third on the all Spanish podium. For Sanchez, Valverde and the Caisse D’Epargne team is was a nearly ideal final result finishing with two riders on the podium with Contador.

Stage 7 results:
1 Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
2 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) B Bouygues Telecom
3 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne :03
4 Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale
5 Reine Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
6 Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha
7 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank
8 Christopher Horner (USA) Team RadioShack
9 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team RadioShack
10 Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana

Final classification
1 Alberto Contador (Astana)________________28:35:34
2 Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d’Epargne)_______:11
4 Luis León Sánchez (Caisse d’Epargne)_______:25
3 Roman Kreuziger (Liquigas)________________:26
5 Samuel Sánchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi)________:30
6 Jens Voigt (Team Saxo Bank)______________:35
7 Joaquim Rodriguez (Team Katusha)_________:37
8 Reine Taaramae (Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne)_1:07
9 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Omega Pharma)____1:16
10 Jérôme Coppel (Saur – Sojasun)___________1:17


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s