Tour de San Luis – Late Update

Image thanks to – Luis Barbosa

The Tour de San Luis ran from January 18-24 in Argentina and is a 2.1 race in the UCI America Tour. This race features some of the big name teams and a few of the big name riders, but is quite a small early season race, with a short history; the first was in 2007. Made up of continental teams and pro-teams, the field is primarily Italian, Spanish and Latin American.

The 2010 edition was won, as you can see in the photo, by Liquigas rider Vincenzo Nibali. Other notables included Danilo Napolitano, Filippo Pozzato, Jose Serpa, Alexander Kolobnev and Santiago Botero! and Michael Rasmussen! Wow, that’s fun.

A seven stage tour, it’s similar to the TDU in that it’s a good early season warm-up race. Geez, those Foot-on -Servetto jerseys are some of the worst in cycling.

Final general classification
1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo__25:44:47
2 Jose Serpa (Col) Androni-Giocattoli___0:00:28
3 Rafael Valls (Spa) Footon-Servetto___0:01:19


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s