The ’09 Cima Coppi Tour Final Tally and Wrap-up

CimaCoppiRide2009Here are the final numbers of the ride and a few interesting other notes:

Time, Distance, Speed and Elevation

Total Days Traveled from Frankfurt to Madrid:
21 days (Dep: May 3rd, 2009 – Arr: May 23, 2009)

Total Number of Riding Days (Stages):
16 (15 excluding Barcelona)

Total Km’s Traveled from Frankfurt to Madrid:
4684km (approx.)

Total Km’s Traveled by Bicycle:
2866km (16 days)

Total Km’s Traveled by Train:
1818km (approx.)

Average Km’s Per Day:
By Bicycle per stage: 179.13 (16 stages)
All Modes per day: 223.05km (21 days)

Average ’09 Giro D’Italia stage: 161.71 (21 stages)
Average ’09 Tour de France stage: 164.52 (21 stages)

Estimated Elevation Gained by Bicycle:
27,250 meters gain (according to Bikely & Google)

Vertical Height of Mt. Everest from sea level:
8,848 meters

Average Elevation Gained per Stage by Bicycle:
1704 meters per stage (16 stages)

Vertical gain of Mt. Seymour:
890m (12.2km)

My Total time riding stages:
94:12:00 (2866km)

Top time in the Giro D’Italia:
Denis Menchov – 86.03.11 (3396km)

Bottom time in the Giro D’Italia:
Evgeny Sokolov – 91.02.22 (3396km)

My Average Speed during Stages (solo):
30.424kmph

Top Average speed in the Giro (pack):
Denis Menchov – 39.465 kmph

Mechanicals and Equipment

Number of flat tires:
0, which still blows my mind.

Number of mechanical problems:
1 – Freehub body seized.

Couchsurfing and Sleeping

Number of Couches Surfed:
14 (13 excluding chance encounter in Montpellier)

Experiences:
Great: 11, OK: 2, Not so great: 1

Other places slept in:
Train Station, Garbage/Recycling Room, Park

Other

Number of Croissants Eaten:
36 that I can remember.

Most of the lessons I learned from my first European journey I used during this one and adding to that I was much more prepared as well. Therefore, the trip went smoothly and I had few difficulties with directions and wayfinding. As well, traveling with such little gear meant for less risks of flats, mechanical difficulties and a higher overall performance. I was surprised to see that I averaged more than 30kmph. The new experience for me this time was dealing with the pro-race component which I highly recommend. It takes much of the pressure of for wayfinding and the experiences with the Tifosi are incredible.

Things I would do again:

1. Ride some of the race stages again, but likely not so many in a row, it really interferes with the time scheduling and site-seeing/visiting side of things.
2. Ride with so few tools again. In fact, I never really opened my toolkit.
3. Couchsurf again on a tour but I think I would stay for longer periods in smaller villages.

Things I would change if I could do so now:

1. I would have ridden up Petite Saint-Bernard and come back down to Aosta.

That’s about it. I hope you enjoyed reading the blog.

PS. If you’re wondering what happened after this ride, let’s just say I left my bike in Spain and found other means of getting around. I ate many more croissants. I slept in a few more airports and train stations. I hitchhiked through Germany and drove some young drunk kids home in their vehicle that just happened to be going my way. Oh, and I relaxed.

Stay tuned for the next Cima Coppi Tour.

– Lawrence

Leave a Reply

