Day 20 – Barcelona – Madrid

Barcelona3

Summary:
I had a full day to kill in Barcelona and I was going to do it biking. I wanted to see as much Gaudi as possible and to run up the total km’s closer to an even 3000.

Day of Journey:
Stage 15, Day 20, May 22nd, 2009.

Time Traveled:
107.8km (The whole day 6am-9pm)

Distance Traveled:
~750km (Train and Bicycle – 26hours)

Travel Methods:
Train (~650km), Bicycle (107.8km)

Total Distance Biked:
2866km (15 stages, three rest and one city day)

Twitter:

“Hanging out here in Madrid. The bicycling trip is finished, but the tapas and cañas marathon has just begun. That one is easy though!”
“I´ll be updating the blog with pics and all when I return. An amazing journey, with great people, great vistas, food and more. NOT ONE FLAT!”

So What Happened?

The final day of riding before I went to Madrid. After waking up from the most terrible outdoor sleep of my life I rode to the train station at 4am and slept there for 3 hours. Then, I got a coffee and a croissant and started riding. I rode everywhere and saw everything I could in one day, spending the entirety of said day on my bike. I rode for almost 13 hours averaging about 10kmp/h overall – I was really taking it easy. I had to find a bike box at the end of it all and had a tremendous ordeal getting my pedals off because none of the first four shops I went to would let me use their pedal wrench but soon it was all over. That night I was on the train to Madrid, sleeping in luxury again. The long cold night in Barcelona was behind me and so was my Cima Coppi tour.

Picture(s) of the Day:

Barcelona2

Leave a Reply

