More Training and Randonneurs attempt #3

stanleycypresstw

I rode both yesterday and today. 34km yesterday, doing the regular three loops of Stanley Park where I was really trying to focus on powerful climbing up the short rise to prospect point. Then today it was back up Cypress again, this time starting almost from the water, riding up the Symphony of Hills…where i got lost, and then to the top. I felt awful today and had no power at all. As a matter of fact, it was as difficult to convince myself not to stop at the lookout on Cypress as it was to continue to the top. I did the climb to the 15km marker in the top parking lot in 45m 25sec. This was 2.25 slower than on Monday, which considering how I felt was not as bad as I had thought. The ride in total was 67km which combined with Monday’s 97km and Tuesday’s 34km brings me up to 198km for the week – so far the best week I have had. I’m planning on not training tomorrow or Friday and only riding my leisurely commute.

Saturday though, is the next BC Randonneurs ride – the Buccaneer 200. I am hoping to get this ride in and that will bring my week total to about 400 (450 or so if I ride to the start and home, which I would do.) This is the link to the map: Buccaneer 200. Then I may try to do a 50km ride Sunday with Patricia to bring the week total to 500km. We’ll see if it happens, but I’m off to a good start so far this week, with a significant amount of climbing under my belt.

– Lawrence

Leave a Reply

